The Ethiopians – The Original Reggae Hitsound
Trojan 1986

The Ethiopians were founded by Leonard Dillon and Stephen Taylor
around 1966 and started recording for Clement ‘Coxsone’ Dodd. After
that they worked with several other studio’s amongst who Lee Perry’s.
This is a 1986 compilation with their music from between 1966 and 1972.
When Ska was starting to change, late sixties, Ethiopians’ sound
was hot and leaning towards rocksteady. I think two or three songs were
already on the album ‘Everything Crash’ which I recently re-uploaded.
Tomorrow evening, saturday 6th, I’ll be doing a reggae and dub evening
with Sista Poca from Poca TV, check her out here. It takes place in a tiny
coffeeshop called Andorra in Hilversum. Fat Back Pumping Dub and Reggae
accompanied by coffee and some sweet smoke, I’m looking forward to it.


1 Free man
2 Train to Skaville
3 Engine 54
4 Come on now
5 Train to glory
6 The whip
7 Everything crash
8 Things a get bad to worse
9 Well red
10 One
11 Hong Kong flu
12 Gun man
13 What a fire
14 Woman capture man
15 Feel the spirit
16 Drop him
17 Good ambition
18 No baptism
19 The selah
20 Pirate
21 The word is love