Saucy Calypsos vol. 1 – Various Artists
Ice Records 2003

It is only from 2003, but already out of print as far as I can see.
A collector of 14 wonderful calypso’s by various artists. Saucy
Calypso’s as most calypso’s are quite saucy for that is one of
the characteristics of the genre. It got my attention when
listening to track 14, Lord Canary’s Dr. Beckles Clinic.
Such fun to hear how the crowd goes crazy here ..

Hij is slechts uit 2003, maar reeds niet meer te krijgen zover als
ik kan zien. Een verzamelaar met 14 heerlijke calypso’s door diverse
artiesten. Saucy Calypso’s zoals de meeste calypso’s ‘saucy’ zijn, dat
is een algemeen kenmerk van deze muziek uit Trinidad. De cd trok
m’n aandacht toen ik het 14de nummer hoorde, Lord Canary’s
‘Dr. Beckles Clinic’. Zo geestig te horen hoe het
publiek uit de bol gaat ..

01 – Sparrow – Sell the pussy
02 – Duke – Mommy come and see
03 – Lord Kitchener – No melda
04 – Duke – The dentist
05 – Lord Kitchener – Handy man
06 – Mighty Sparrow – 60 million frenchmen
07 – King Fighter – Drink again
08 – Mighty Terror – Callaloo tonic
09 – Duke – Beast for sale
10 – Lord Kitchener – Panorama night
11 – King Fighter – Female teacher
12 – Mighty Bomer – My brother tommy
13 – Mighty Sparrow – Jook for jook
14 – Lord Canary – Dr.beckles clinic (tent)


One thought on “Saucy Calypsos vol. 1 – Various Artists
Ice Records 2003

  1. Great collection, Moos, King Fighter and Canary are two Guyanese calypsonians and of course, the others age legends from Trinidad.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.