June 22, 2008

Gregory Isaacs – the Best of Gregory Isaacs,
GG Records 1977

This ‘best of’ is not a ‘best of’ as I see it. It sounds more like a
one-session recording then like a collector. Tracks 2 and 3 are
written by ‘Alton Ellis’ if I’m not mistaking. Backed by ‘the
Revolutionairies’, ‘Gregory Isaacs’, with his voice
like sugar and glue, comes in with a great LP.
Recorded at Channel One Studio.
I like this one extremely much !


1 Special guest
2 Willow tree
3 Breaking up
4 Double attack
5 My number one
6 No speech
7 Tear drops
8 Cool you
9 Freedom
10 Look before you leap


This entry was posted in


  1. Anonymous 2 February 2010 at 04:22 - Reply

    I just picked this album up yesterday, good record, awesome find.

  2. Joel Cairo 14 May 2010 at 11:28 - Reply

    Yes it is a great album.

    The track listing on the cover and label of my copy has no resemblance to the order on the actual vinyl.

    This is par for the course I know for many Jamaican pressings but this one really takes the biscuit.

    They are as follows.
    1. Willow Tree
    2. Breaking Up
    3. No Speech
    4. Tear Drops
    5. Double Attack
    6. My Number One
    7. Special Guest
    8. Look Before You Leap
    9. Cool You
    10. Freedom

  3. Anonymous 10 August 2010 at 05:05 - Reply


    Another link removed by Rapidshare.

    Walrus Jackboot

  4. ALTCERF 5 March 2011 at 00:09 - Reply

    Appreciate all your hard work on your blog. Thanks very much.

Leave A Comment