June 17, 2024

Totally Wired
A Collection from Acid Jazz Records
Various Artists
Acid Jazz / Jazid 1989

By the end of the eighties there was a revival of jazzy grooves
on the Brittish ‘Acid Jazz’ label. It released jazz, street-soul, funk,
jazzrap, hiphop, retro-kitch and so. Founded by Gilles Peterson
and Eddie Piller. Later Gilles Peterson started the Talking Loud label.
This is one of the first releases under the name Totally Wired. A bunch
of compilations followed. It was specially made for the Club Dancing
Scene, but we used to play it a lot in our local coffeeshop too. Our
public loved it. soulful, funky jazzy, wild stuff ..

Tegen het eind van de jaren tachtig was er een opleving van jazzy
grooves op het Britse ‘Acid Jazz’ label. Ze brachten jazz, street-soul,
funk, jazzrap, hiphop, retro-kitch en dergelijke. Opgericht door Gilles
Peterson en Eddie Piller. Later richtte Gilles Peterson het Talking Loud
label op. Dit is een van de eerste uitaven onder de naam Totally Wired.
Een rij compilaties volgde. Speciaal gemaakt voor de club dans scene.
ook wij draaiden het veel in onze lokale koffiesjop. De gasten smulden
ervan. Zielvolle, funky jazzy, wild spul ..

Acid Jazz

01 – A Man Called Adam – Love me to death
02 – New jersey Kings – Sweet cakes
03 – What’s What – The odd one (part 1)
04 – The Ulf Sandberg Quartet – Bolivia
05 – The bukky Leo Quintet – Olumo rock
06 – Galliano – Frederic lies still (live in tokyo)
07 – Haryou – Latin jam
08 – The Hip Joints – Lickout
09 – The Jazz Renegades – Playing for real
10 – Bangs a Bongo – Batu-casu
11 – Bukkleo – Galliano – The freedom principle


This entry was posted in

Leave A Comment